BAke book · baking · Goldilocks

Pandesal – Take 2

Ok, so, I tried pandesal again for the nth time. But before in doing so, I have searched the internet for other pandesal recipe and try to find out more.

So, again, prepared the ingredients and followed the Goldilocks recipe again but with a few changes on the procedure.  I can’t believe the outcome as it was a SUCCESS! My pandesal recipe finally tastes great and soft like the normal pandesal I used to buy in our hometown bakery.  And the most important thing, my family loved it and it was swooped in this morning’s breakfast – HAPPINESS.

So, my few tweaks for the recipe:

1.  Yeast mixture should be set aside to 20 – 30 minutes.

2.  Knead the dough by hand for better results. (A bit of patience here. It takes 10 minutes or so to do this. The dough must have a smooth consistency)

3.  After kneading the dough, leave it to rise for 1 hour or so. Put into a bowl and cover with cling wrap.

4. Then after the dough size is double, punch the air out and shape into a log.  Around 11-12 inches long; cylinder like shape, cut the dough 2 or 2 1/2 inches apart.  Roll each piece onto a plate of bread crumbs.(I made my own bread crumbs as the breadcrumbs here are different.)

5.  Lay these pieces on a cookie sheet with 2 inches apart.

6.  Turn on the oven and set it to 100 C and once it is hot, place the pandesal inside the oven after 2 minutes or so and turn off the oven.  Do not remove the pandesal inside.  Let it stay there to rise for 1 hour.

7.  Bake the pandesal at 325 F for 13-15 minutes.

So now my theory of the yeast is scraped and the key is how your dough will rise and texture of the dough plus patience. Definitely will make more using this procedure.

I wonder whether this can be used for ensaymada as well…hmmm. Let me see.

Sharing with you is the recipe from the book(Ingredients and Procedure):

Ingredients:

2 tsp        Instant Yeast

1 1/4 c     Water

2 cups      All purpose Flour(sifted)

2 cups      Bread Flour(sifted)

1/2 cup     Sugar

2  tsp         Salt

1/8 cup     Shortening

For Dusting: Bread Crumbs

Procedure:

Pre heat oven to 350F

1.  Dissolve yeast in 1/3 part water. Set aside.

2.  In a mixing bowl with dough hook or flat beater attachment, place the sifter all-purpose flour ,bread flour, sugar and salt. Mix for one minute at a low speed.

3.  Add the remaining water, dissolved yeast.  Mix at a medium speed for approximately 4 minutes.

4.  Add the shortening and continue mixing at a medium speed until gluten is slightly developed.

5.  Transfer the dough in a greased bowl and cover with plastic.

6.  Let the dough rest for about 15 minutes at room temperature.

7.  Punch down and roll into a cane shape or “baston” of about 1/2 inches diameter.

8.  Cut the dough into pieces weighing 30 grams each.

9. Arrange pieces with the flat side facing up in a 12″ x 16″ baking pan.  Make 3 rows with 8 pieces per row.

10.  Sprinkle top with breadcrumbs.

11.  Let the dough rise until it doubles in size.(Approximately 1 hour at room temperature)

12.  Once the dough has risen to double its original volume, bake for 13 to 15 minutes or until golden brown in color.

There you go! Have fun in baking Pandesal!

9 thoughts on “Pandesal – Take 2

  1. I have this book too…. I failed once and never tried it again….. but now I will try it again I hope that it will come out as goog as ur pandesal…. thank u for ur tips on how to do it the right way….

  2. I have this book too…. I failed once and never tried it again….. but now I will try it again I hope that it will come out as good as ur pandesal…. thank u for ur tips on how to do it the right way….

    1. Hi,
      Thanks for your comment. Let me tell you that I have tried numerous pandesal recipe and sort of combine them together. I have failed
      many times as well till I got it. It takes practice.

  3. I was just wondering if you’ve tried the same procedure you did for the pandesal to make it soft and fluffy to the ensaymada recipe. I tried the goldilocks ensaymada recipe but was disappointed as it was nowhere close to the real goldilocks bought from the store. I’d hate to waste ingredients.

    1. Hi, Caren,
      At first, it was not really close as it only good after coming out of the oven. Then after sometime, it turned into a hard bread. I have no choice but to throw.:(
      Anyways, I think it has something to do with the time of the raising of the dough and the yeast.
      Thanks for visiting.

  4. I have never made pandesal but have a bunch of potential recipes in hand. they’re too many that I don’t know which one to start with. will this be your go-to pandesal recipe? if so, I might try this for a start.

    1. Hi, Janis,
      I cannot say that this is the go-to pandesal recipe as I have tried and checked other pandesal recipe and the procedure are quite the same. Just try this, but you have to be patient in kneading the dough and the waiting time for the raising of the dough as well.
      Good luck and enjoy!

Leave a comment