BAke book · Ensaymada recipe · Goldilocks ensaymada recipe · pinoy dessert · Uncategorized

Its Ensaymada again!

Image

Image

So I decided to bake ensaymada. It seems that this time around, the result is nice and soft. Success! The ensaymada is a bit bland still maybe because I didn’t put much butter on top and sugar or cheese. But for me, its fine.

This means, I did something right. Maybe because I baked it for the third time and now I know I can really use this recipe for ensaymada.

What I did was :

1. I have replaced half of the all purpose flour with bread flour. As the recipe states all purpose flour. In my previous attempt, I used only all purpose flour.

2. I used a slightly warm water to dissolve the yeast and left it for at least 20 minutes.

3. I have greased my hand with oil while cutting the dough into 15g each and rolling them into a twirl.

4. Followed the procedure though some minor tweaks along the way

5. Eggs are at room temperature

6. After the ensaymada are baked, wait for it to cool and it will be easily taken out of the moulder. Follow #14.

I am so happy with the texture of the dough. It’s soft and stretchy as I twirl the dough and place it into my molder.

Try this recipe and you’ll be delighted as well. Next time, I will put a salted egg and cheese as there is another recipe in the book.

Let me know how it goes if you tried this!

Sharing the recipe for the Goldilocks book:

Ingredients:

2 tsp Instant Yeast

2/3 c Water

3 3/4 All Purpose flour

1/3 c Sugar

3 Large Eggs

1/4 c Evaporated milk

1/3 c Butter, unsalted

Topping:

Butter, Unsalted  creamed

Cheddar Cheese

Sugar

Procedure:

Pre heat the oven at 325 F

1. Dissolve yeast in 1/3 part of water. Set aside.

2.  In a mixing bowl with a dough hook or flat beater attachment,place the sifted all-purpose flour,sugar and salt. Mix at low speed until incorporated.

3.  Add the dissolved yeast,remaining water,eggs and evaporated milk. Mix 2 minutes at low sat low speed then mix at medium speed for approximately4 minutes.

4. Add unsalted butter and continue mixing until gluten is slightly developed.

5.  Transfer the dough in a greased bowl cover with plastic.

6. Let the dough rest for about 15 mins at room temperature.

7.  Punch down the dough and divide it into pieces weighing 60 grams each

8. Let the dough for 15 minutes then cover with plastic sheet to prevent from drying.

9. Roll out the piece thinly into 8″x5″ rectangles. Brush with butter.

10. Roll into a long rod and twirl into shape, locking ends to seal.

11. Place each piece in a greased ensaymada molder.

12. Let the dough rise until it doubles in size(approximately 1 hour 30 mins at room temperature)

13. Bake for 17 minutes or until golden brown

14. Let the bread cool and remove from the molder

15. Brush the top of each ensaymada with creamed butted and sprinkle with grated cheese and sugar.

 

 

 

 

 

 

4 thoughts on “Its Ensaymada again!

Leave a comment