Biko and Cassava Cake

I am tossing whether I will make puto; but I decided to make biko instead.  Also, thought that a few weeks ago, I made cassava cake and have left over shredded cassava(frozen it). So I made 2 recipes – BIKO and CASSAVA CAKE.

Biko taste great! First of all, I didn’t buy the ready made coconut cream but I extract the cream on to a shredded coconut I bought at the wet market. It was a joy seeing these first cream.  As I remember when I was little, I used to shred these coconuts, as we have a “yadyadan” which when you use it you have to be careful as you might get injured – your hand or chin; as one time, one of my cousin accidentally injured her chin!  And then my grandmother put warm water, approximately around 2 or 3 cups for the first extract. Then followed the second extract.

I am anticipating of having pain in my arms as I know this Biko requires constant stirring to achieve a ‘sticky’ consistency. Well, I had a slight pain only however it was gone after I was hypnotized by ‘latik’ aroma once I was doing the process.  I have made the Biko topping as well, but inside of me shouldn’t pour onto the sticky rice.  Maybe next biko recipe, I will just do the latik as topping instead.

My Cassava Cake was better than I made before. This was the feedback from my hubby. I totally agree, it was creamy and not too sweet.

Overall, these two desserts were served at Sunday breakfast and mid afternoon snacks with coffee and juice.  I will definitely do this again.  Just follow the recipe and you can’t go wrong.

Sharing the Cassava recipe from the Goldilocks book:

Ingredients:

1 1/2cup  Grated Cassava

1 1/2 cup Water

1/2 cup  Coconut Milk(1st extract)

1 can condensed milk

1/2 cup sugar

1/4 cup macapuno strings

1 large egg

2 tsp vanilla flavor

1/2 cup grated cheese

2 tbsp margarine

Toppings:

2 tbsp  evaporated milk

2 tbsp Egg beaten

1/4 cup macapuno strings

Procedure:

Pre heat oven at 350F

1. Place grated cassava into a cheese cloth then slightly squeeze out some of the juice. Discard squeezed out juice.

2. In a blender or food processor, combine grated cassava, half of the water, coconut milk, condensed milk and sugar then grind. Set aside.

3.  In a non stick pan skillet, combine grated cassava mixture,macapuno strings, egg, vanilla flavor,half of the water, and half of the grated cheese. Place over medium  fire and with continuous stirring, cook the mixture until cassava is translucent.

4.  Once the cassava is translucent, reduce to low fire. Add margarine and the remaining cheese. Continue cooking until thick.

5.  Turn off the fire and equally distribute the cooked cassava onto the 2 pieces aluminum pie plate with banana leaf at the bottom. Set aside.

6.  In a bowl, combine the evaporated milk and beaten egg. Mix well until incorporated then add the macapuno strings.

7.  Top the cassava with macapuno strings mixture.

8.  Bake the cassava for approximately 35-40 minutes or until top is golden brown.

9.  Once cassava cake is baked, remove from oven and allow to cool.

 

 

2 thoughts on “Biko and Cassava Cake

  1. Hi Pinay Plate,

    Thank you so much for the cassava recipe. I can’t wait to try this very soon. It’s now becoming a habit of me to check your blog every night to find out anything that I haven’t read. Your blog is so addicting.

Leave a Reply

